Once Again, Thanks

I’m going to be completly annoying here and post a bunch of links…

I am feeling a bit off again, I guess it’s true what they say, that real sorrow comes in waves. Most of the time you are fine and then once in a while, it comes washing over you.

So here is what I do when my world burns. I listen to HIM. Or, if my boyfriend is so nice to stay in his work room, cutting some of his movies, I watch HIM videos.

Why? Well, I could say, because Ville is cute.

He is. No question about it, I adore that man, in every possible way, but mostly because of the words he comes up with.

He really knows how to describe sorrow, loss, heartbreak, and he does it in a very beautiful, cynical way. Who could ask for more, really?

For instance;

“Suicide of love took away all that matters
And buried the remains in an unmarked grave in your heart”

From the “Killing Loneliness” video. Brilliant. I know how that feels. Not to mention, I want HIM in a box like in that video… wouldn’t it be awesome…

“Bleed well the soul you’re about to sell for passion deranged
Kiss and tell, baby we’re bleeding well
Bleed well the heart you’re about to fail for reasons insane
Kill and tell, baby we’re bleeding well
In hell”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6pHO8F3sSxU

The “Bleed Well” video is always cute, simple, black and white, HIM. Opening with Ville laughing, drawing a beautiful contrast to the content of the song.

Then we have “Join me” of course. One must never forget this all time classic.

“This world is a cruel place
and we’re here only to lose
so before life tears us apart let
death bless me with you”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZsCPgrhR1bQ

I always loved the blue light in this video, not to mention Ville’s make up… But aside from that, this was the song that introduced me to HIM, way back in 1999 when Apollon was just a new born foal, and probably kept me from losing my mind more times that I can count over the years.

Another fantastic song, is “The Funeral of Hearts.”

“Love’s the funeral of hearts
And an ode for cruelty
When angels cry blood
On flowers of evil in bloom

The funeral of hearts
And a plea for mercy
When love is a gun
Separating me from you”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PMD1k16baVE

What kind of a man writes lyrics like that? Isn’t he just to die for? I mean really…

Oh I am so easy, such a teenage girl once in a while…

“Ode to solitude.”

Well, I am going to post it all, because this song, amongst others kept me from feeling too lonely when Legacy was put down and Poseidon started failing. I so know what it is like to watch the train coming at me…

“Easy on the eyes, uneasy on the heart
Sew my wrists shut
Sew my wrists shut with hope, straight into light
Shining bright I dare you to dream this
And I dare you to dream this gone ,what I want to know is what make you smile less

Here’s to the pain, the light of the oncoming train
Come on
Ode to solitude in chains
Here’s to the pain as always heaven in flames
Now bleeding
Ode to solitude in chains

Map the scars of a heart bruised and torn
Loosen the noose love
Loosen the noose with love
What I want to know is why you keep me hangin

Here’s to the pain, the light of the oncoming train
Come on
Ode to solitude in chains
Here’s to the pain as always heaven in flames
Now bleeding
Ode to solitude in chains

If I should fail (and I will) to stay
Remember not to forget this feeling you have
I’ve failed
Please pretend it never happen baby

Here’s to the pain, the light of the oncoming train
Come on
Ode to solitude in chains
Here’s to the pain as always heaven in flames
Now bleeding
Ode to solitude in chains”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iUrxI8U0iGg

The video in itself might not be that interesting, but for us HIM’sters, the “Screamworks” album introduced a sober Ville for the first time ever, a recovering alcoholic, determined to turn his life around and actually proving that he could do it. If we all wondered how long it would last when “Venus Doom” came out, Screamworks proved that anything is possible.

I will, however have to end this on a slightly more cheerful note.

“Right here in my arms,”

“So hard she’s trying
But her heart won’t turn to stone… oh no
She keeps on crying
But I won’t leave her alone
She’ll never be alone”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-SQGJ0rfIEk

Oh well, again with the HIM box… This song and this video always make me smile. So young, so straight forward rock music, so adorably insane it has to make you at least snigger.

And so, here I am, once again, not drowning, thanks to my ability to distract myself and very much thanks to this great band.

Watch the videos. At least the “Join me” video. If you don’t like that one, don’t bother with the rest… You are just not crazy enough then…

Or, you are one of the lucky few who don’t know what it is like to really feel that “this life ain’t worth living…”

Thanks, HIM, once again.

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

