I came across this one, and I have to reblog it, just because, it’s so true and such a funny idea, and I will never, ever do it. Imagine me, going on a date with, let’s say Nahoris, because those of you who have read the Hand of Fate might know him. Oh well. Honestly, I would not take him to dinner….
No, me, dating my imagination, that would be a very dangerous relationship. Someone as anti social as me, who work with horses and write books and, most days, are able to completely avoid human contact, imagine me, dating this perfect little elf I have created in my head?
I would never dare do that to my boyfriend…
As for Cazal, who is my main character in the Hand of Fate, I got to admit, I would not dare go on a date with her, but for very different reasons. I am pretty sure I would not fall head over heels in love with her, no, she is as strange, as touchy, as tough, as soft, as bitter and dangerous as I am, and I believe that if Cazal and I would ever meet, we would instantly hate each other, just because we do take pride in being unique in our eccentricities…
Thalid then? I could safely date my dark elven wizard right? I do believe he would be the best option for me, really. He is too, one of the “lesser” characters that people tend to fall in love with once they read my books. He has got charm, and charisma, and a dark side that someone like me has to find utterly attractive because he is capable of doing the cruelest things, but when push comes to shove, he never does anything that is not motivated by love. Thalid is a great character for me to work with, and yes, I think I could date him, just once without replacing my boyfriend…
Who am I kidding… Forget I said that… No, don’t ever let me do this. I am already struggling to remain in this world. But maybe, for writers, not as insane as me, not as closely attached to her characters, not as in love with them already, this could be fun. So try it, even if I dare not.

Coffee, Cats, and Keyboards

Tell me the truth. You’re in love with at least one of your fictional characters, aren’t you?

As writers, I think we all have intense emotional relationships with our characters. Whether you would describe it as love, or hate, fascination, or even feeling that your characters are running the story and you’re just taking dictation, we’re all emotionally invested in our characters.

We know what our characters like and want. We know their tastes, and their whims. So, here’s a challenge for the writers out there:

Date your character!

We’re all busy trying to work our writing into our daily lives. But, putting some time aside to get in touch with your character can be a fun way to recharge your creative batteries, find inspiration, and end writer’s block.

Let’s look at a “What If…” scenario.  What if your character traveled across time, space, death, and reality to spend the…

View original post 150 more words

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in The Starstone and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to

  1. I adore Cazal and you know it, she is amazing…
    I think I too could date Thalid, he is dark enough for me, but in his own way he have a really good heart.
    Then there is Valo, he is in many ways an amazing character, you made him in a way, that I just can´t help but care about him.

Leave a Reply

