This Piece Of Poetry Is Meant To Do Harm

This Piece of Poetry is meant to do Harm

The Ark

“You’ve been watching over me
saying you’re keeping me company
I should be grateful, I suppose
and compare you to a summer’s rose

You’ve been talking sweet to me
about peace and loving harmony
But I know what you say about me
So now I tell you cause I gotta break free

That I can’t give no false affection
I can do without your phony charm
This train ain’t movin in your direction
This piece of poetry is meant to do harm

Please don’t give me no warm reception
What you call peace to me is a call to arms
Some are singing to raise affection
But this piece of poetry is meant to do harm

So with what shall I compare thee?
Summer’s clay or winter’s sleet?
You made a non-believer out of me,
now you ask for my sympathy?

No, take your words and take your vows
take your flake-fuelled buddhist bows
Let the cool winds roughly shake
out all darling buds of fake

I can’t give you no false affection
I can do without your phony charm
This train ain’t movin in your direction
This piece of poetry is meant to do harm

And don’t you give me no warm reception
What you call peace to me is a call to arms
I’m not singing to raise affection
This piece of poetry is meant to do harm”

I don’t usually post poetry or lyrics that are not my own, but I have to talk about this one, just a little bit. I adore it, simply because of the bitterness, the irony, and the honesty in it. Haven’t we all written that poem, where we compare someone to a rose? Saying that now you are watching over me?

I know I have. A thousand times. This song is kind of a “get over yourself” to wannabe poets like me. I love it. I have no idea if that was how the song was intended by the Ark, and I really don’t care. That’s what it means to me and that is kind of the beauty of poetry, much more than used and worn out flower -metaphors. It can be anything, depending on who is reading it.  That’s a good poem to me, that’s a good song to me. One you can relate to and read meanings into, depending on who you are and how life has treated you so far. This song might mean something else to me in ten years from now, but right now, it makes me smile.

I need to hang on to the things that make me smile. Other than that, this song makes me think as well, makes me wonder how to better my song writing, how to write something, without using the same worn out metaphors over and over again.

Still, this song is riddled with metaphors itself, “What you call peace to me is a call to arms.” Just saying. I have used that one a thousand times over again, the call to arms analogy. Which is what makes this song so brilliant. It manages to be so ironic that it gets away with anything.

Got to love the Ark…  Give it a listen, I dare you.

And now, I better return to my writing. I am closing up the last of the Starstone Series at the moment, writing on the finishing chapters of (book five) the series that has been with me all my life. Somehow I keep letting myself get distracted by music, or anything else really, that will prevent me from ending that story…

Coward as I am, I really don’t want to write that last part, eliminating myself from the story, leaving my world behind once and for all. What am I to do then, with my life? Play music again?

Yeah, you know what, it might not be a bad idea… My band and I are meeting next week, after having hardly touched our instruments for the last 6 years at least. It’s going to be interesting and another nice distraction, keeping me from writing those last chapters.

And soon, Tardis is going to give birth to her foal… If I’m really good, and keep myself busy, I might be able to not finish that last book for a very long time… Then summer will come and I have to train Saleem and my friend has a four year old horse we are going to show this year, which will take a lot of time, not to mention her mare and the foal she has on the way, which will have to be showed as well… Oh yeah, diversions is my specially.

This one is a good one though. This piece of poetry is meant to do harm. It really is. So why am I silently laughing to myself like a crazy person?

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Horses, Poetry/ Songs /Art, The Starstone and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Piece Of Poetry Is Meant To Do Harm

  1. Ruchika says:

    Do you always speak so much sense? I mean… cmon!

Leave a Reply

