The Kill

The Kill

 

30 Seconds to Mars

“What if I wanted to break
Laugh it all off in your face
What would you do?
What if I fell to the floor
Couldn’t take all this anymore
What would you do, do, do?

Come break me down
Bury me, bury me
I am finished with you

What if I wanted to fight
Beg for the rest of my life
What would you do?
You say you wanted more
What are you waiting for?
I’m not running from you (from you)

Come break me down
Bury me, bury me
I am finished with you
Look in my eyes
You’re killing me, killing me
All I wanted was you

I tried to be someone else
But nothing seemed to change
I know now, this is who I really am inside.
Finally found myself
Fighting for a chance.
I know now, this is who I really am.

Come break me down
Bury me, bury me
I am finished with you, you, you.
Look in my eyes
You’re killing me, killing me
All I wanted was you

Come break me down (bury me, bury me)
Break me down (bury me, bury me)
Break me down (bury me, bury me)

(You say you wanted more)
What if I wanted to break…?
(What are you waiting for?)
Bury me, bury me
(I’m not running from you)
What if I
What if I
What if I
What if I
Bury me, bury me”

So, one of my all time favorite songs. Why?

It’s so angry. So sad. So full of hope. Listening to it you find yourself running through so many emotions, accepting when you’re weak, and wanting to break once in a while, laughing off the hurt, fighting back or simply trying to be someone you are not and in the end accepting who you really are inside.

It is songwriting when it’s best, at least to me. For some reason, whenever I am truly feeling horrible, this song always pops into my head and it always make me smile, even if it is with tears on my eyes, because well, what if I wanted to break?

The video is rather amusing, the creepy horror movie hotel setting, the twin band members doing, well, creepy things, at least some of them, and of course Jared pushing himself up against a wall…

I don’t know anyone who have watched that movie who didn’t complain that he doesn’t kiss himself there, but I guess I have to admit, as awesome as it would have been, I understand  what that scene is about.

Facing the demons inside you and becoming who you really are inside. It is very beautiful, really.

So, this song is a classic. If you don’t know it, check it out. If you don’t know 30 Seconds to Mars, hurry up and check them out. They are an amazing band.

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Kill

Leave a Reply

