“Life”

So, the cat is a little better today. She has been walking about a bit, although she keeps getting tired and falling over. I keep watching her, wondering if she has been hit by a car and half paralyzed in her hind quarters or if she is “just” starved and completely unable to use her body. I think it’s the latter, but I don’t have that much experience with animals that has been starved like this.

I think I’ll sneak –attack her with a thermometer later, just to make sure she is not running a fever… I mean, as thin and dehydrated as she is, it is understandable that she is tired and sleeps a lot and even that she has trouble walking, but still… I always imagine the worst…

18 years in the world of horses have taught me to worry and to always expect the worst case scenario…

She has been able to go “toilet” though, which is quite a relief. I was beginning to wonder if her insides had shut down, but she seems to be in working order after all. She eats tuna. Nothing else. And she has been drinking a lot of water today as well. That’s good. I really don’t care what she eats, as long as she does eat.

She loves company as well. She is very happy when someone will sit with her. She purrs and is a bit like Velcro, making it completely impossible for me to write on my book because when I am not feeding her, (or at the stable, feeding Apocalipse who is only just recovering from his viral infection,) she sticks to me like glue.

I left her with my boyfriend a few times today, thinking that she would fall asleep and he could put her down after a while, but it turned out that he just got stuck holding her and when I came back he looked very miserable, saying that he really needed to get some work done…

Here they are…

cat 012

So yes, this is our little foundling, and no she is not in the clear yet, but she is improving. At the moment, we are calling her “Liv,” which is Danish for “Life,” because well, she earned it. This little thing, she wants’ to live. Hopefully, we will be able to help her do just that.

cat 013

Right now she is sleeping like the dead on my boyfriend’s pillow, (Shh, he doesn’t know that,) I just slipped her off me so I could get a bit of editing done on The Twins, the second book in the Starstone Series. I still hope to have it out by next month, but you never know. I seem to be constantly distracted by sick animals, claiming my attention.

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Life- The Cat, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Life”

  1. jen says:

    That’s the sweetest thing – most guys would not have stayed there and held the cat!

Leave a Reply

