A New Life Inside

When Amalia were pregnant with Apocalipse, I always wondered, why I didn’t see the foal move around in there. I swear, I never did. I spent hours watching her, hoping to catch a glimpse of life inside her belly, but – nothing.

I even read somewhere that if you gave the mare a lot of cold water to drink, the foal would feel it and move. I tried that, evil as I am, hoping to catch some glimpse of my precious and long awaited foal. Nothing. Apocalipse as adamant, he never moved.

I guess that goes to show how gentle his temper is? After having met him, I am not surprised that he didn’t kick around in there. He is a very laid back, easy going horse and it takes a lot to startle him. He feels safe and happy in this world.

Now, don’t get me wrong, he is not a lazy young man, he sure has got a temper if he feels that he is mistreated, (like the time when he cut his leg and wouldn’t stop bleeding so I had to place a compress on him until the vet came, boy he kicked up a storm about that, blood pouring everywhere…) and he does play a lot with Saleem, but all in all, he is a good natured young man, who doesn’t make a fuss over nothing.

So, I just saw Tardis today, walking up to my half frozen water barrel and drinking. Her huge belly instantly jumped. I nearly dropped the brush I had in my hand. She got quite startled too, clearly she didn’t expect her belly to start jumping around with her like that, she nearly lost her balance. The foal in there, just kept kicking around for a long while. Long enough for me to walk up to her and feel it as well. Even after she had stopped drinking, it kept kicking in protest for a while.

Poor Tardis. Seems that her foal is going to be a bit of a wild thing. I bet it’s a girl. No boy would kick up such a storm over a bit of ice cold water…

I can’t wait to meet the little thing. I can’t wait to see if they are different in temper, or if it is just a coincidence that I never saw Apocalipse move. I can’t wait to see if it really is a girl… And I am pretty sure that Tardis can’t wait to get rid of her huge belly by now, especially since it has started moving her around when she least expects it.

In other news, my friend’s horse did NOT have a viral infection, I finally got to see the test and I was proven wrong. For once in my life, I have never been happier to be wrong than I am now, it is such a relief. All of a sudden, I feel like I can breathe again.

And last but not least, the nearly starved to death cat I found in my drive way on the 12th of February, “Life,” is recovering perfectly. She is walking, nay running, about the house, terrorizing everyone, at all hours of the day (and night), insisting to sit on someone most of the time (my poor boyfriend is home more than I, because he works at home…) and she is gaining weight rather quickly.

So, what do you know, a happy update… that doesn’t happen too often. I am preparing to run now, because I am sure that karma is waiting for me, just around the corner, waiting to get me for this optimistic post, but you know what? Once in a while, you have to believe in the future, and what can be more perfect than seeing a yet unborn life move for the first time?

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Horses, Life- The Cat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A New Life Inside

  1. It’s sounds rather creepy, wonder if human babies kick that much as well 😉
    I’m so glad that things are finally looking up.. Let’s hope it continues like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

