A Whiter Shade Of Pale

I had the strangest dream this night. I was at an apartment somewhere, I had never been there before. I had no idea where I was, or why I was there. I didn’t know any of the people there. I think it was a party though, because the place was filled with happy people. I sort of drifted through.

I didn’t talk to anyone. It wasn’t that I was invisible or something like that, I mean, they saw me, most of the people there nodded at me as I walked by. They just didn’t really register with me.

I ended up at the old stereo, playing a tape with Procol Harum’s Whiter Shade of Pale on it. The tape was stuck, someone had taped it in the radio so it couldn’t be turned off.

I smiled. I felt like coming home. Even if I didn’t know who had fixed the music so it could only play one song, one song that perfectly fitted my mood, I knew that in this sea of strangers there were someone else who felt like a whiter shade of pale.

I woke up with the song in my head. The funny thing is, I am not exactly a fan of Procol Harum. I mean, I love this song, but I haven’t heard it in, I don’t know how long. Why it came to haunt my dreams like that, I have no idea, but if it is good enough for me to remember it in my dreams, I should at least post it on my blog. I guess it earned that, just for making me feel a little less lost in my dream.

It is a very beautiful song.

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

