Night One

Night one on my foal – stakeout. Cold. I mean, seriously cold. The wind picked up as well. Luckily I’ve isolated my hayloft with hay, to keep the wind from getting in and now I am trying to convince the guys to eat a lot less hay, so I won’t freeze at night. They strongly disagree…

I did manage to sleep a bit though, for about four hours, until Apocalipse woke me up at 6 am, by running up and down the pasture for no particular reason. Saleem and Marble joined in, and when I looked out, I saw the three of them in a state of frenzy, and my pregnant mare was nowhere to be seen.

Needless to say, I got up very quickly, scrambling down the ladder, only to find my pregnant mare, still pregnant, standing in the only corner of the pasture I couldn’t see from my loft, drinking water…

So, what else to do, but feed them their breakfast and let them out on the grass. (We fertilized part of the pasture a month ago and it has been closed off, so they are slowly getting used to the grass again these days, a few hours at the time, to avoid stomachaches and laminitis and such…)

I was planning on going home once morning came, but my Ferrier was set to show up later, so I was kind of stuck. Powering up the tiny laptop I’ve borrowed from my friend I actually got a bit of writing done and resisted the temptation of connecting the computer to the internet.

So, it’s been a long day. But now I’m home for a few hours, hugging the cat, and making sure that my boyfriend has got everything under control at home, before I go back to my hayloft. Really hoping the wind will quiet down later…

So, offline again soon, but I’ll try and update as much as possible.

Take care everyone!

And Dirty Vampire, thanks for driving me! I really couldn’t have brought all my blankets and stuff on my bike, and I surely would have frozen to death without them…

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Horses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

