Ablaze And The Back-Up-Mom

Time for a little update on my beautiful foal, I believe. Ablaze is a month old now, he has met my Ferrier for the first time and had his front legs corrected a bit- I actually saw the fault before my Ferrier did, he sure have trained me well- and he was quite alright with having a strange man pick up his legs. Much more okay in fact, than his mother was.

Tardis is a very easy going mother, she lets him figure out most things on his own, except for one thing. Strangers. Humans, other than me, my boyfriend and a few of my girl friends who come by often. Anyone else, even the guy who owns the farm, is banned from getting anywhere near her foal.

IMG_1345

I love her so much for that, I really do. It is very reassuring, knowing that if any of those strange cars that have been driving up to my pasture, just to hold there and then go back the way they came from, ever wanted to try and snatch up my foal, they would have a hard time getting past his mother.

At the same time, it is a bit of a problem that she responds like that to strangers, because it means that she is freaking out when the Ferrier is touching her as well. We ended up trimming her in the middle of the pasture, not inside the house because she simply refused to be in there with a stranger. Too little space, too much danger… Luckily my Ferrier knows me, and listen to my solutions, and my promises that she will get better once she gets to know him, as long as we don’t scare her senseless. We just got to take it one step at the time and get her hooves trimmed as calmly as possible…. By winter and snow and rain, I promise we can have her in the house…

But, that wasn’t really what this post was about. No, Ablaze has got a nanny. Yep, you read that right. My two year old Marble, is SO good with him. Tardis even allows her to sneak off with the foal quite often, as long as she keeps him away from Apocalipse and Saleem.

I bet you, Tardis thinks it’s really nice to have a babysitter. Ablaze thinks so too, he really believes that he can handle Marble and that he can push her around as he see fit. Marble is so nice, and she moves him around so gently, he never realizes that he has been moved at all. She sure has grown a lot over the last month, mentally. She has become happy, calm, and overbearing instead of her usual explosive temper.

So, here goes, Ablaze and his back-up-mom;

IMG_1348 IMG_1360

IMG_1365 IMG_1366

IMG_1375 IMG_1376

IMG_1810 IMG_1853

The best pillow ever;

IMG_1864

Tardis and her two kids….

IMG_3773 IMG_3772

IMG_3776

And not to worry, I am keeping an eye on them, making sure that Tardis gets him back in time for his feedings. I know it is not supposed to happen, but sometimes a mare can just leave her foal. I don’t think Tardis would, but since I am a pessimist, I am always on the lookout for what can go wrong. So far it does seem like Tardis is just enjoying the freedom once in a while, as Marble takes care of the little bugger, and that is a rather perfect arrangement. It gives Tardis some time off and it trains Marble for when she, one day in the future, will have a foal of her own.

IMG_1353

If I was ever in doubt about getting her pregnant, that is gone now. She is going to be a brilliant mother some day.

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Horses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ablaze And The Back-Up-Mom

  1. Eddy Jones says:

    This is a truly beautiful blog and I shall be following you now. Thanks for sharing this gem and have a wonderful day.
    Eddy.

  2. sammerson says:

    Aww that’s really sweet. Cheyenne was like Tardis when she had Stetson. She would let him wander all over the pasture but the minute someone new came up, she was next to him in a flash. She always knew where he was and what he was doing. That’s a good mother! I think for being such a great mom, Tardis deserves a little break from time to time!

    • Starstone says:

      She does, and it’s very nice to see how Marble is alowed to take him and help her out once in a while 🙂 I am very proud of both of my little girls 🙂

Leave a Reply

