Decisions

So much to say, so little structure in my head at the moment.

Sorry.

Anyway, my friend and I are going to Blue Hors tomorrow, to show her four year old, and we are going again Saturday to show her mare and foal. It’s a “closed” event, only for horses born to a Blue Hors, Ask or Kirk Arabians, stallion. Both of my friend’s horses belong to the Blue Hors- dressage- category.

It’s going to be a long weekend, especially with the mood I’ve been in since Marble cut herself the other day and I discovered on top of that, that Tardis is developing summer sores as well. Excuse me, while I repeat to myself a thousand times over, I love horses, I love horses, I love horses…

Still, it’s going to be huge for my friend, her first show with her four year old, a gelding she has bred herself, and trained herself all the way. So I’ll be there, helping in any way I can, of course I will. That’s what friends are for.

It does mean though that I may not be able to find the time to update this blog for the next two days, so apologies in advance. I promise to take pictures and show her off afterwards. Would that be okay then?

I do need to figure out one thing though, today. If I am signing Saleem up for the upcoming European Championship next month (Arabians only,) or if we won’t be able to make it.

Thing is, my friend took the day off from work to drive us, but because of some special rules and the weight of her car, she can only drive us if we borrow a small trailer. No problem, I thought, until we tried borrowing the trailer the other day, just to practice a little with it before hand.

That small trailer is, well, first off unstable on the road. Second, and what is freaking me out the most, the separation bar inside it, is lose, meaning that the hind bars must be attached at all times or the separation bar is moving. Of course, I am pretty hysterical, but really, I don’t think I want to drive my horse that long, in a trailer like that.

Maybe I am just looking for excuses not to go, I don’t know. But I really didn’t like that trailer. Saleem didn’t seem to mind it though, so maybe I am the problem. I am pretty sure I am. Still, he is my responsibility, and as much as I would love to go, nothing is more important than his safety.

(We are still at the load and leave stage in our trailer training, meaning that I ask him to enter the trailer and I ask him to stand there, without closing behind him, and when I can see that he is stressing, or becoming unhappy, I ask him to leave the trailer calmly. I dare not close behind him until I am 100% sure he won’t feel trapped inside it.)

I am a bit afraid though, that if I don’t have a deadline for when I need him to learn to have the trailer closed behind him- like a show- I will never do it. I will always be too afraid that he can’t handle it, and we will keep loading and leaving the trailer for the next five years until I finally give up and resign him to never becoming a “competition horse.”

So, decisions. Do I sign him up, or don’t I?

Did I mention, it’s raining? And it’s going to rain all weekend, especially Saturday when we are showing the foal?

Oh I am such a happy bunny these days…

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Horses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Decisions

  1. LHK says:

    Sign him up…! 😀

  2. sammerson says:

    If you sign him up, is it written in stone? I don’t know how shows work there but I know here SOME shows don’t make you pay up front so if you decide not to go, you didn’t really lose out on anything. I say sign him up regardless, it gives you a hard goal to work towards.

    • Starstone says:

      No, it’s never written in stone… Which is why I can always run away at the last second 😉 I am just trying to figure out if I am going to bolt or not… because if I know right now that I am not going, then there is no point in signing him up…
      I still don’t know though 😉

Leave a Reply

