Another Picture

I just felt like sharing this video again, of my own little gang, having fun with my boyfriend… sometimes you need to smile and remember why you hang in there in the world of horses and I find this video and the positive attitude, especially in the foal, very life confirming.

You see, someone spoon-fed me another picture of Sezuan, the horse in “the one picture” https://starstonestenfalk.wordpress.com/2013/10/17/the-one-picture/

Yes, I took the bait…

And just when I thought it couldn’t get any worse…

sezuan

What is that, a Tennessee Walking Horse? Is that really where we are going with dressage these days? Because this sure ain’t a natural, two beat trot in a Danish Warmblood, and we all know Sezuan’s pedigree, since they got it wrong when he was first licensed. Blue Hors Don Schufro/ Blue Hors Zack. No, absolutely no Tennessee Walking Horse anywhere in his genes… It’s a good thing they did his DNA test, otherwise I would have doubted it…

And I know, according to “our” national team vet, Danish Warmblood are breed to walk like this, “to raise their front legs high to the extend where it damages the interaction with the hind legs…”

No kidding… In fact, I read somewhere that Danish Warmbloods, like Sezuan I imagine, are in fact mutated, like trotters…

And once again, can you all hear my head explode?

First off, I bet you anything in the world, if Sezuan was allowed to run free on a pasture, he would NEVER raise his legs like that, so no, he is NOT breed to do it. This is a forced horse, held by human hand, and already ridden half way to the slaughter house…. give him a year more, maybe less, and his suspensions will give way. I dare say, he is already lame in the video posted in “The One Picture.”

That video screams “ligament issues” to my eyes…

But of course, I am not a vet… I am just a girl, who have spent all of my life, staring my eyes out, looking at my very own trotter, trying to get a hang of his movement.

Because yes, trotters have been breed in a certain way. They are not mutated. They are breed to have wide hind legs, so they can take longer steps at a trot, without hitting their front legs. So, yes, they do have a bit of a funny trot once in a while, but NEVER the kind of trot you see on the track either. That is forced, abused, and beaten horses as well.

Race horses have always been a subject dear to my heart, and when someone tries to explain the pain they go through away, a vet no less, with mutation, I swear… I cannot be responsible for my actions.

Any blind idiot knows that’s not true. Please tell me that people see through that. And no, Sezuan is not a mutation. Really, I’d bet my life on it.

Sezuan is an exceptionally well tempered horse, easy to bully, abuse and force into frame, and way, way out of frame.

The Tennessee Walking horses are not mutated either… We did all see this video right?

(Warning, this video will give you nightmares. Contains graphic scenes, of horrendous animal abuse.)

How long, until dressage catches up? How long, can we explain away this mutilated form of dressage, where the horse hobbles along like a sick chicken? How long can we keep applauding it?

And once again, as soon as you raise those kinds of questions in the world of horses, you are met with the instant response, “Can you do better?”

Maybe. I know I am trying. I know I never damage my horse on purpose in order to win a bloody ribbon. I know that the welfare of my horses is the most important thing to me. If anyone watched the video of my horses at the top, the first is my three year old, yet unridden.

IMG_7430

The second is my two year old, yet unridden.

IMG_7958

(That should go without saying, but I am pretty sure that Sezuan, in the picture I posted today, is only two, and very much ridden…)

The third is my four year old, I have started breaking her in this fall.

IMG_8109

She was pregnant when I bought her, I would have never got a mare that young pregnant, if I had had the choice. The foal is four months old in the video.

IMG_7573

The last is my six year old, and the only ridden one so far.

IMG_7291

And maybe you can find lots of faults in what I do as well. I am not perfect. But I do know one thing. I never force my horse to pretend to be a mutant, “to raise their front legs high to the extend where it damages the interaction with the hind legs…”

I am still in shock that a vet would actually say that and that a huge magazine would happily quote him, and I hope that most of us are too smart to buy it, no matter if we can do better or not.

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Horses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

