The Morning After

Guess what I’ve been doing today! Exactly what I had not hoped to be doing!

Okay, so we had a storm sweep across Denmark yesterday, and I was kind of worried that the roof on my stable wouldn’t stay in place, mostly because the new house is not quite done. Fact is, the last row of roof tiles are not exactly secured yet…

I got a call this morning from the guy that owns my stable, saying “there are roof tiles all over your pasture!”

My first question was, of course, “what about the horses?”

“I don’t know! My harvester is getting vet!”

“Okay, so it’s the roof on the machine hall that died?”

“Yes, and it’s blown all over your pasture, can you come by and help pick it up?”

“Sure, on my way, now you go check if all my horses are standing up and no one is bleeding, thank you!”

“But my harvester is getting wet!”

Men. What are you going to do… my friend came and picked me up, it was raining quite a lot, and her car is a lot faster than my bike… thanks love! On the way to the stable, the guy called me back up.

“Hey, it’s not really your problem that my roof is all over the pasture. If you just close off that part, I’ll pick it up later. The horses are okay, by the way.”

Technically, it IS my problem, that there are roof tiles all over my pasture, and no I will not close it off, so don’t you worry, I’ll get it.

Turns out, my stable, including the new house with the unsecured tiles, were perfectly intact, as were my horses. So, once I was satisfied that no one was bleeding or dying from having been hit by a flying roof, my friend and I spent the morning picking up pieces of roof… in the rain. Fantastic. The horses helped a lot, especially Saleem and Marble, by stepping on them, breaking them into a thousand little pieces, making it much easier to pick up in the muddy swamp my pasture is turning into…

Once we were done with that, we had another, slightly less fixable problem. We have a solid iron box on my pasture, used for burning tree and stuff when we cut down the hedge for instance. Somehow the wind had managed to knock it over.

My friend and I tried to get it back up, but it just couldn’t be done. I called the owner and asked for help. He was laughing, saying we should put our backs into it.

Lesson number one, if horse girls can’t fix it, it can’t be fixed…

He came by to help us, like all men do, set on proving how it could easily be moved if you were just strong enough. Yeah, he couldn’t move the bloody thing either. So, by the aid of the tractor, we got that problem sorted out as well.

My friends stable had a few problems as well, so after we were sure my horses were in no danger from the iron box or the roof tiles anymore, we went to fix her fence, since a bunch of trees had decided to die on it. Luckily she has three pastures to chose between so it didn’t affect her horses too much, that one part of the fence was down, but it still needed fixing, because of the electricity. An electric fence tends to be much less effective with a tree on it… even if it is not on the same pasture, it breaks the circuit.

As we arrived at her stable, we discovered another problem though. Water on the floor inside her stable.

Investigating the issue, we discovered that quite a few of their pine trees had snapped, broken in two, and one of them had hit her roof… Yep, we had a hole in the roof and wet straw on the hay loft underneath. Actually, considering how huge those trees are, that was kind of lucky. Minor damage, really.

So we moved straw around and placed a barrel underneath the hole…

And went about fixing the fence. Sawing off trees, pulling up trees, driving trees away from the pasture on a wheelbarrow in the pouring rain… No, not exactly what I had hoped to be doing today, but we managed. We even managed to finish up just before it got dark…

I’m not complaining though. We were darn lucky, all of us. For once it kind of feels like the universe was not out to get me. Usually I have the feeling that my horses live by “anything that can go wrong, must go wrong, preferably at once,” but today they came out of a storm in high spirits, and with no injuries after having had a roof blow over their pasture.

I believe thanks are in order, so who ever looked after us last night, I owe you one…

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Horses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

