December 8th

December 8th.

My very first hero was born on this day, back in 1943. I am speaking of course, of Jim Morrison, lead singer of The Doors, the band that brought music into my life. Jim was the one to bring words into my life as well, he was the inspiration for some of the first songs I ever wrote.

Jim+Morrison

I grew up wanting to be just like him. To live life with a passion. To sway people with my words. To make a difference, and be remembered for my art in the end.

Yeah, as a kid, you have dreams. Jim was one of mine.

Jim-Morrison-the-doors

And I am speaking completely innocently here. I realize that a lot of people look to Jim as a sex symbol, and I’ll give them, he is adorable, but that was never the kind of hero he was to me. I idolized him. I still do, to a certain extend. I felt a strange connection to him, like he was one of the few people who may have understood what it was like, to have words, burning inside your head, begging to be written down.

So, yes, I will always make a note of the day Jim was born.

jim_morrison-431x300

At the same time, December 8th , 1980, was the day John Lennon was killed.

John+Lennon

Oh yes, I dare to love both the Beatles, and the Doors, and the Rolling Stones, because you know what, I wasn’t born back when it was cool to love one and hate the others…

JohnLennon

I’m an “Oasis vs. Blur” kind of girl, that was my time, and I must say, I nearly broke up with my boyfriend once I discovered that he was on the Blur side there, (the horror), but I never played along with the Doors vs. Beatles fight…

And yes, John Lennon is another hero of mine. First off, the Beatles always make me smile. Second, I always adored John, and Yoko, and the passion they had for what they believed in.

John_Lennon_&_Yoko_Ono_17

I grew up hoping that I would be as idealistic as John and that I wouldn’t exactly get shot for it in the end. Let’s be honest, I never wanted to be a hero.

But I did want to be a writer who wasn’t afraid to speak her mind.

Thanks guys.

You should know the kind of trouble I get into all the time…

Anyway, The Doors, When the Music’s Over;

When the music’s over
When the music’s over, yeah
When the music’s over
Turn out the lights
Turn out the lights
Turn out the lights, yeah

When the music’s over
When the music’s over
When the music’s over
Turn out the lights
Turn out the lights
Turn out the lights

For the music is your special friend
Dance on fire as it intends
Music is your only friend
Until the end
Until the end
Until the end

Cancel my subscription to the Resurrection
Send my credentials to the House of Detention
I got some friends inside

The face in the mirror won’t stop
The girl in the window won’t drop
A feast of friends
“Alive!” she cried
Waitin’ for me
Outside!

Before I sink
Into the big sleep
I want to hear
I want to hear
The scream of the butterfly

Come back, baby
Back into my arm
We’re gettin’ tired of hangin’ around
Waitin’ around with our heads to the ground

I hear a very gentle sound
Very near yet very far
Very soft, yeah, very clear
Come today, come today

What have they done to the earth?
What have they done to our fair sister?
Ravaged and plundered and ripped her and bit her
Stuck her with knives in the side of the dawn
And tied her with fences and dragged her down

I hear a very gentle sound
With your ear down to the ground
We want the world and we want it…
We want the world and we want it…
Now
Now?
Now!

Persian night, babe
See the light, babe
Save us!
Jesus!
Save us!

So when the music’s over
When the music’s over, yeah
When the music’s over
Turn out the lights
Turn out the lights
Turn out the lights

Well the music is your special friend
Dance on fire as it intends
Music is your only friend
Until the end
Until the end
Until the end!

Jim-Morrison-Frankfurt-Se-007

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Poetry/ Songs /Art, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to December 8th

  1. Love both…
    They both left us way to soon…

  2. Reblogged this on noelheartpoet and commented:
    Love them

Leave a Reply

