Walking Without A Shadow

You know I don’t believe

I never turned to you before

But if you are out there somewhere

I need you now

Like I never did before

 

I’m walking without a shadow

Living without a soul

My heart is beating for something else

I’m walking without a shadow

Laughing without the smile

My time is running out

For something else

 

You know I don’t believe

I never turned to question

But if you can help me somehow

I need you now

Like I never did before

 

We are walking without a shadow

Living without a soul

I won’t get wet from the rain

We are walking without a shadow

We will keep running for a while

In search of the sun

Someplace else

 

I’ve been home alone tonight, and as such, I found myself picking up my guitar. I hardly ever do that when my boyfriend is home… I even wrote a new song and all… Not this one thought. This one was just there.

Imagine that, as I was rifling through my book of songs and notes and cords, looking for something to play and suddenly these lyrics were there. I cannot remember writing this song. Not at all. Clearly I have written it a while ago and never written music for it, not completely satisfied with the lyrics, I imagine.

Today though, as I looked at this piece of paper with those handwritten lyrics, in green ink, the melody just came to me and thus, it became a rather beautiful song, I have no idea why I have written.

I think I’ll go over the lyrics at some point and adjust some of them a little, but all in all, it’s pretty… uncharacteristic for me, and I would like to keep it that way.

I love words. Music. Writing.

The worlds that open to you once you master an instrument, no matter if it is a pen or a guitar… I love it even more that I can surprise myself like this. I must be growing old…

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Poetry/ Songs /Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Walking Without A Shadow

Leave a Reply

