Spider

There is a spider in my bathroom. There have been for about a month by now. I am kind of starting to wonder two things. One, what does it eat and two, where does she go when I can’t find her?

It’s a fairly big one, and most of the time she is just sitting in a corner. She is a hunter; she is not making a web. She is pretty beautiful actually.

No I am not one of those people who freak out at the sight of a spider and I will never understand the unreasonable need most people have to kill them on sight. The spiders we have in Denmark are not dangerous at all, unless you are a fly, and I’ll take a spider in my corner over flies anytime. A part of me dies every time I discover that one of my friends are just one more of those people who need to kill off spiders simply because they exist. To be honest, it is always a very defining moment in my friendships, if they catch the spider and let it out, or if they freak out and makes their husband kill it…

I will never understand murder, for the sake of murder… except when it comes to horseflies… those bastards can go to hell for all I care, but spiders never bother anyone…

I couldn’t just throw my spider out, since I discovered her when it was freezing and snowing outside. She would have frozen to death. So, I left her in my bathroom corner.

Now, I am actually growing a little curious. What DOES she eat? We don’t have any flies at all, this time of year. I even considered feeding her. But what does a spider eat? The cat’s tuna?

And then, once in a while, she is just gone and I fear the cat may have snatched her up. Chad is quite an insect killer. He can catch anything between his front paws, in flight. If he came across my spider, she wouldn’t stand a chance. But she always comes back. And she doesn’t look like she is losing weight. What might she eat? Now I am thinking that I am not kicking her out until spring comes… if she wants to live in my bathroom corner, she is more than welcome. As long as I don’t find her crawling across my pillow one morning, I don’t mind her presence, although I must admit, I like her better when I can see her, than when I can’t…

She is gone at the moment; otherwise I think I would have snapped her picture. Maybe I will, if she comes back again.

I know what you are all thinking. Thank you.

crazy1

Yeah, I am working on the polite part… not my strong side.

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spider

  1. roma1912 says:

    Love your post, goodness only knows what spiders eat, like you I couldn’t evict my spider and Eric…(see I went one further and named my critter) will be living with us a while longer, if he eats dust he can stay permanently 😀 😀

    • Starstone says:

      haha I was thinking about naming her, but I can’t really figure out what to call her.. my boyfriend calles her Shelob already, but she is not THAT big 😉 hehe
      Nice to meet you 🙂

Leave a Reply

