Happy Birthday Saleem

Six years ago, I brought home this young man. Sadly, I didn’t have a camera that was worth anything back then, so what I have is this;

galleri040

Photo by Cautzar Arabians.

galleri043

Photo by Cautzar Arabians.

And a few lousy cell phone pictures.

DSC00352

DSC00449

Anyway, my wonderful Saleem is turning seven today. It feels like those years have just gone by unnoticed. I mean, I know, it has been some of the longest years in my life, because in the cause of those six years, I have lost Legacy, Amalia, Poseidon and Apollon. Saleem has been right here with me, growing up, through some of my darkest times.

IMG_3523

Saleem, and Amalia, gave me Apocalipse as well, the foal for which I am grateful every single day.

Amalia

And I should stop calling him a foal by now…

IMG_0662

I won’t lie, Saleem has been driving me crazy, quite a lot, with his violent headshaking. I sure have felt that I have let that horse down more than once, because I just couldn’t figure out how to help him in the best possible way.

IMG_2378

I hope he will forgive me though, now that I at long last is on the right track. At least I hope so.

IMG_0082

Through the last six years, there has been one thing about Saleem I have come to rely on. His open mind. Even if he responds by screaming “I can’t, I won’t, please don’t make me,” whenever you try to teach him new things, as soon as you manage to explain it to him, and keep his focus, he is one of the most fantastic horses I have ever worked with. He takes such pride in doing things perfectly.

IMG_9849

IMG_9686

IMG_5562

saleem mus 2

IMG_0245

equstrian cover

IMG_9331

IMG_5610

IMG_1004

IMG_3053

I never tire looking at that face.

IMG_3870

Thank you Saleem, for entering my life and for putting up with me. Thank you, for, at long last, letting me love you. Like a true sensitive soul, it has been a long journey for me, to find my way under your skin, but I am here to stay. I really am.

IMG_3889

Happy birthday Superstar.

DSC_8574

Photo by HP foto

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Horses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

