Focus

I will admit that I am struggling a bit right now, having been offered to pick up a pony, owned my one of my friends. Said pony is born this year, a grey mare, just the way I looooover ponies, and she is untamed, since they have not been able to catch her, since she was let out on pasture this spring. The perfect pony for me, really.

My boyfriend doesn’t hate the idea, even though, bringing home a pony we can’t ride, because she will never grow big enough, does not appeal too much to him. I honestly don’t know why I would want a pony like that. Maybe because riding matters so little to me these days and she is just kind of perfect…

So why haven’t I gone and picked her up yet? Because my head is already listing all the things that could go wrong. I mean, a filly who has not been separated from her mother, could she handle being thrown to the lions, straight into my herd? Would they be nice to her? Or would she be miserable and  get chased through the fence?

And, she has not been vaccinated at all. What if she brings home some kind of illness? I am still very much a burned child, after Apollon died on me the way he did, and the idea of bringing home a none vaccinated horse, seems very stupid. I could be jeopardizing my other horses. Could be. Probably won’t be, but could be. Would I take that chance?

Then there is the matter of her legs and hooves, since she has not been corrected by the Ferrier at all. She could be in real trouble and it could already be too late to do damage control. Or, she could be one of the lucky few, with perfect legs… Question is, do I dare take a chance on a foal that has not been supported at all?

And then there is parasite treatment, of which she has got none either, which probably means that she is riddled with worms. Do I want to bring that home, to my pasture and my carefully watched, tested and treated horses? No matter how fast I get her tested and treated, she will be contagious to bring home.

And last, she doesn’t have a passport, or a chip, both of which is a must, according to Danish law. It is going to be quite expensive to get her paperwork in order, now that she is older than six months, which is the time allowed.  Add to that, without a passport, it is illegal for us to transport her. I would be asking who ever I got to drive her for me, to take a huge chance and possibly lose their license or at least get a big fine if we got caught.

So, why am I even considering picking her up? Am I in fact, completely insane? I guess so.

I know there is a lot of reasons why not, but truth is, she is my kind of pony. Raw, untamed, wild… I would love to get to know her, to work with her, to help her… Knowing that anyone would have a pony and not take care of it the way that she deserves, is kind of killing me.

Please note that the horse is not thin or in any way mistreated, according to Danish law. It is only in my head that it is a crime to not have the Ferrier support your foals, to not treat them for parasites and not vaccinate… I will never understand those who dare not do those things and it is killing me, on behalf of this precious little girl.

Question is, am I going to be reasonable here, and walk away, or dare I take a chance on her? I honestly don’t know. I do know that it is distracting me from what I should be doing; editing my book. I am still counting on having The Unicorn’s Horn, book four in the Starstone Series out by the end of the month. I just need to focus here. And not dream of little grey ponies. So far, I am not doing too well.

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Horses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Focus

  1. We have four two quarter horses, two POA’s, and six miniature horses…..seven of them are rescues….I feel your indecision here lol….but as you can see I always say yes….go get the little grey pony, medicate her, teach her, love her.

  2. If you have the facilities and finances to care for her – go and get her!!! Sounds like she needs someone like you to care for her 🙂

    • Starstone says:

      oh you guys are killig me here 😉

      • You seem like a sensible, thoughtful person that would give a horse a good life. You should only take her on if it’s what you really want though – you definitely shouldn’t feel pressured to have her just because other people say so 🙂 I have two horses and I know how tempting it is to keep collecting them!

      • Starstone says:

        hehe I have five already, and truth is, I don’t really need a pony, but she would kind of fit right in since my baby from last year could really use a playmate… 😉 And, yes, it is very tempting to just have one more 😉

      • Well in that case, it’s sounds as though you need her 🙂

      • Starstone says:

        But, he can play with my three year old, the age gap is not that big… *sigh* I just don’t know 😉

      • I had thought of getting another youngster for my 2 year old to play with but I decided not to, partly because he’s quite silly already and my older mare is educating him in reasonable behaviour. I only own 4 acres so not enough land for many horses. I used to have a larger place and had 10 horses – too many really! 🙂

      • Starstone says:

        I guess that is part of it as well, how much time and space. I don’t know, I could have her, but its not that simple, really 😉 I have had six before, and it is a lot of work everyday… I guess I have a lot to think about, and real fast 😉

Leave a Reply

