Baby Teeth

Apocalipse started changing his four year teeth about a month ago. You know, the last of the front teeth. It did look strange, when the baby teeth first started to come off, because the new tooth didn’t seem to be pushing the old tooth away. It kind of grew up beside it.

But, right side, upper tooth fell out eventually and everything was fine. I kept looking at the left side, expecting it to follow suit, but it never did. A month later, the new tooth has grown past the baby tooth, and the baby tooth has placed itself behind it, like a shark, as a second row of teeth. Here is where I am thinking, hmm, uncool, right?

I tried to take pictures of it, but that is kind of hard, making him open his mouth and handling the camera at the same time. Still, you can see the baby tooth in the gap between the new tooth and the other teeth.

IMG_1961

I sent my vets this picture. I bet they regret the day I got their email address… Anyway, to my surprise, they were kind of unsure of what to do and promised to think it over, over the weekend.

I have to admit, I was thinking that we’d sedate him and pull the bastard out. I mean, it’s a baby tooth. The root should be small by now. It should be doable. Right?

Now, I am not so sure. I do know that it feels ironic if Apocalipse is the one who ends up going to a hospital to have his baby teeth removed, right after I have spent the last three months fighting like crazy to prevent Saleem from going to a hospital and having his broken tooth surgically removed. I know, Apocalipse is Saleem’s son, and to add to the irony, Apocalipse’s mom, Amalia, broke that exact tooth when she was five years old, and had half of it removed. I guess destiny is kind of against my poor Apocalipse here…

But, until my vets decide what to do, I would like to hear from the world. I have never seen anything like it. Have you? And if so, what did you do?

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Horses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby Teeth

  1. jen says:

    Okay, my younger daughter really hates it when I compare her strange health things to horses (I’ve done it before), but here goes…remember, we’re talking about a child here…not a horse…but I think there could be some similarities. Kid 2 had a baby tooth that would not come out, and her adult tooth was coming in right in front of it. The baby tooth was slightly wiggly, but nowhere near coming out on its own. I took her to the dentist, they numbed her, and they pulled the baby tooth. The roots on that thing were huge – they hadn’t started breaking down or whatever it is that the roots of baby teeth do. We’re kind of in the same boat again…she has another tooth (this time on top) that is coming in right in front of a baby tooth…if the baby tooth doesn’t come out in another week or so, I imagine we’ll go in and have it pulled. I wonder if it would be possible for your vets to do a simple extraction…nothing fancy, no cutting, just sedate and pull. Blue had a wolf’s tooth (my vet originally didn’t believe me when I said she had one, because they usually only occur in males) removed right here on the farm. Good luck!

    • Starstone says:

      hehe well, my little girl, Marble, has two wolf’s teeth, so I guess some girls are a bit male when it comes to that šŸ˜‰ And I’ve had Saleem’s and Legacy’s wolf teeth removed at home as well, Legacy’s were small and easy, Saleem’s was huge and I will admit the “operation” was rather nasty and not something I am ever doing again, which is why Marble is keeping hers… šŸ˜‰

      Your kid 2 really isn’t that lucky, that sounds like something we would all want to be without šŸ˜¦ I hope her baby tooth goes away!

      I spoke to my vet today and she said that a baby tooth could be left for almost a year, without affecting the new teeth, so there was no need for panic, (not sure it that applies to humans,) she had checked all her old school books šŸ˜‰

      Luckily, Apocalipse happened to lose his baby tooth today, the upper one, so now I am just keeping a sharp eye on the lower ones, and keeping my fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

