In Memory

It’s been two years today, since Apollon was euthanized.

IMG_2153

Three years and five days since Amalia was euthanized. Got to love December. Lots of days I want to remember…

IMG_5503

I still don’t know what killed Apollon, not really. I have a lot of ideas, a lot of theories, as to why his arteries would rupture like that, but no answers. Just enough to drive me crazy.

WP_20140324_019

Two years ago, it was snowing like crazy on this day. Two years ago today, I gave up on fighting for my 13 year old baby, and my vet braved the blizzard to show up and help him escape this world. Two years ago, today, the snow was turning red where he fell, the small needle mark where he was injected, refusing to stop bleeding like a faucet, long after he was gone.

APOLLON

Today, it is storming as well, only today, it rains.

baby6

The world cries for you tonight

Clouds keep rolling in above

Pouring rain into our hearts

 

The world holds its breath tonight

The calm before the storm

In silent disbelieve and horror

IMG_5314

If this is your song

Can we make it a happy one?

If this is your legacy

Can we sing it a loving tune?

If this is your melody

Can I print it to memory?

IMG_3140

The world crashed and burned tonight

Flames ran across the scarlet sky

As the sun failed to shine through the rain

 

The wind sings your song tonight

Every rain drop in perfect harmony

As your blood seeps into the ground

IMG_7524

If this is your song

Can we make it a happy one?

If this is your legacy

Can we sing it a loving tune?

If this is your melody

Can I print it to memory?

 

I know, I haven’t written an “in memory off” post for Amalia, five days ago, and truth be told, I forgot. I take that as a good sign. At least, I  now remember her birthday, her life, her kind and gentle nature and I almost accept (most of the time) that she is no longer with us.

IMG_6410

She got to be much older. She had a pre-existing heart condition. I know what killed her. That is so much easier to handle.

amalia speed

Still, we do not forget you girlfriend. Not ever. And we do miss you, like crazy, every single day of the year.

amalia 1

And Baby. I am sorry. I am so, so sorry.

IMG_2101

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Horses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

