Girls Night Out

My friend got herself invited to a rap concert, or should I say, a “private” party for a select few, hosted by a Danish rapper… And for some reason, she decided that I should go with her. Of course, I did my usual kicking and screaming, using most of my very valid excuses; I don’t like rap, I don’t like most Danish music, and I find Danish rap to be mostly pathetic, embarrassing, childish, horrible… I mean, so not my scene at all.

But then I realized that this girl may be one of the people in my life I speak to the most, (over the phone or via face book,) despite the fact that we live in opposite ends of the country and never see each other. In fact, it’s been nearly three years, since we were last together. Who am I to say no, to spending a whole night with her for once, rap or no rap?

So, I stopped kicking and screaming, and went with her, as her “plus one.”

First off, the train ride is kind of long, across country for the both of us. Mostly for her. She had been on the train for hours, before I boarded. And I brought my camera, totally loving the opportunity to take pictures of anything not involving horses for once.

As in the train, flying across the bridge, or myself, ghosting in the reflection in the window…

IMG_8053

IMG_8073

The first thing we saw, upon arriving at the capitol, was police cars everywhere. Now she lives in the country side, but I don’t. I actually live in a rather large city myself, but we don’t have police like that, everywhere. Welcome to the capitol… Silly looking cars too…

IMG_8079

The night café was, to be honest, horrible. I mean, really horrible. Small rooms, by far too many people for the air in the rooms, and the bathrooms… I have seen my fair share of filthy bathrooms, but this one takes the cake… Wow, that was disgusting.

Still, we made the best of it, and had fun taking pictures of ourselves in the mirror… That’s what creative people do, we see opportunities in everything.

IMG_8120

The dance floor was pretty cool too. The lighting in general.

IMG_8108

IMG_8156

The private concert was better than I had dared hope for, to be honest. I still don’t like Danish rap, but this guy had some funny moments and he does get points for that. Aside from that, the sound was lousy, they didn’t use the microphones well, holding them way too close to their mouths, and in a small room, packed with about 50 people too many, the sound that gets thrown around when you abuse your mic, is just not cool. I did like the idea though, of inviting people to a show like this, playing ones music this close to the audience. It did make a sharp contrast to how everybody outside was being frisked before entering the café.

Honestly, I have never experienced that before either. Bars that has bouncers, yes, but not bouncers that search people for knives and stuff, before they are allowed to enter… Again, welcome to the bloody capitol…

I did notice though, that the bouncer tended to search people who came wearing huge jackets and carrying bags, more than those who came wearing a light, tight jacket and a small skirt. The latter, he just ushered through. I can’t help but find that funny, because honest, if I was trying to smuggle a knife into a place, knowing I would be searched, I would be wearing as little clothes as possible. I would not be hiding it in a huge jacket or in my hand bag, I mean, that looks suspicious. No, I would make sure to look exactly like those girls did, that he let in without searching them. Like I couldn’t possibly have a knife up my sleeve, or down my boot…

I know, I can’t help it. My mind always has to work out every possible scenario, when given the opportunity. I would never, ever try and smuggle knives anywhere, but seeing the bouncer skip some people with his search, I instantly start figuring out how to cheat the system, just because… Clearly, it can be done, if one wants to.

Another thing about this trip, that had us amused, was the fact that I was wearing a pink wig. Why? Well, I cut off my hair, (more like shaved it off,) last year, and it is slowly growing back, but it is not very long yet. I kind of like it short, although it does make me look rather masculine, like a butch lesbian. (No offence.) And I kind of don’t mind that either, most of the time, I never considered myself a very feminine kind of girl, but… I don’t know. While I was drawing on a light eyeliner before leaving for the train, while busy watching Supernatural, because makeup never interested me enough for me to focus on it while I was doing it, I thought that well, eyeliner and this short hair, that just doesn’t work. So, I picked up a wig and ran out the door.

Truth be told, I always wear my hair in strange colours, and I always feel most comfortable with my hair being a bright pink or a brilliant blue. I wasn’t made for ordinary hair colours. So, wearing a pink wig, is not something special to me at all. Having strange hair is sort of part of my personality.

However, people in the capitol, doesn’t see it that much, clearly. I don’t think I can count on two hands, (I know, I can’t,) how many people approached us, asking if it was real, if it was my natural hair, (sure, I was born pink, you dumb nut,) and in general feeling that when you wear pink hair, you must be willing and wanting to talk to strangers all night.

I get how it may seem like I am an outgoing and open kind of person, when I clearly doesn’t mind looking different and standing out, but that could not be further from the truth. I don’t like talking to strangers, and I am always surprised when someone feels entitled to walk up to me and talk to me, just because they find a small part of my appearance interesting.

Like, one really drunk girl, asked if she could try the wig on. I had to muster up all my self-restraint there, to not tell her to go fuck herself. Of course you can’t, are you an idiot?

A billion guys wanted to know where we lived, and if they could have their phone numbers, all of them starting the conversation with, “is that your real hair?” I mean, are you kidding me? Most of them were like ten years younger than us. Go home, kid, you are drunk. Ask your mom to teach you some manners, then we’ll talk. Like, never…

I know, I am bitching about it, but all in all, we did have a very long wait at the train station, and we did mostly have fun with all the strange people who talked to us.

Only once did we get chatted up by a guy who did not go away when I told him straight up that I did not want to talk to him and I would like for him to leave us alone. Luckily, there are so many guards at the station in the capitol, that when he wouldn’t leave, we left ourselves, for the nearest coffee shop, who had a guard hanging out, looking bored. We didn’t even have to talk to the guard, the creepy guy got the idea, at long last, and made himself disappear.

It felt a little funny. I have never used a guard like that before. I always handled idiots myself. If felt almost too easy. But well, it was fast approaching six am and we were getting tired, meaning that patience was running rather low.

We did have a great night though. Even if we were rather beat on the train ride home, and when I arrived in my city, the train came in 5 minutes after the bus had left, and there wasn’t another bus until an hour later, which meant that I could either sit at my station and wait in the cold morning air, for a bloody hour, or I could walk home.

Yes, I can walk home from my station in an hour. So I walked. I won’t lie, it’s been a long day today. Coming home at nine in the morning, having to dog sit my mom’s dog three hours later, and the rest of the day, until I had to go to the stable, I haven’t slept much. Usually I would not have done any of this, but I have to say, it was great seeing my friend again, and that made it worth it all. Spending half a day with her. We should do that more.

We did manage to take some stupid pictures in a  photo booth, while being bored, and I have my picture of us hanging on my mirror now, making me giggle every time I look at it. I guess that when you don’t do something much, it matters that much more, when you finally do see each other.

Oh, and there was a model train at the station, complete with landscape and stuff. I think we walked by it ten times before we noticed it. Pretty cool though.

IMG_8168

 

IMG_8172

And now, I should go to sleep. But, still missing half a season Supernatural. Sleeping is over rated anyway. Love the picture of the model truck. It looks so real. Like something taken out of a story…

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

