Poseidon

Poseidon, “the horse that did not like humans,” were born in June, 1995.

april 23-6

Isolated, tied down and never let out for two years, he was kept at the back of a dark stall, with no view of other horses and hardly any human contact. When he came to me, in 1997, he could hardly walk.

Scan00213

Poseidon and I shared 15 years of our lives together. April 23th marked the three year anniversary of the day where this magnificent soul left this world, and I know it is a little late, but here is to our 15 years together;

IMG_3170

Scan00212

Scan0024

Billede 052

IMG_6580

IMG_6589

Billede 070

IMG_2849

IMG_6548

IMG_6557

IMG_0039

40810001

IMG_3035

IMG_1265

It wasn’t always easy. I made a LOT of mistakes with him, but I always tried my very best, and Poseidon taught me basically everything I know of horses to this day.

normal_DSC_2884

normal_DSC_2886

IMG_6633

IMG_8425

Scan00202

april 23-8

So, here is to you, Poseidon, a tip of the hat. This is not a grieving post, for even if I do miss you, I think that the respect I had for you, as an equal, by far outweighs my need for you to be in my life. You always are in my life, simply because of how much you changed me, and made me who I am today.

And I’ll be the first to admit, that many times, it broke my heart more, watching you live, that it did, watching you die. These pictures are the highlights of our lives, the way I want to remember us, but it sure wasn’t always like this.

Billede 048

Still, thank you, for letting me be the one human, you did love. I am ever humbled that you let me into your life, the way you did.

april 23-9

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Horses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poseidon

  1. lucywilliamspoetry says:

    He looks like he is smiling in the post with you on the bucket stroking him : )

    • Starstone says:

      hehe oh, he is 😉 That was his go-to-move 😉 In the first picture he is trying to chase me down from the bucket, because I wasn’t allowed to be taller than him, and when I didn’t scare, we were the best of friends 😉 I swear, you can see the halo and the angel wings on him in that second picture, if you look closely 😉

Leave a Reply

