You Are So Sexy!

There is this new phenomenon going on, on face book, that I keep finding rather… Let’s say funny. Please don’t get me wrong, I am all for encouraging one another, but I was raised to not suck up to people, or lie, and it always takes me by surprise, when it happens.

The thing is, whenever someone posts a picture of themselves, even if it is a lousy selfie taken in a bathroom, (I’ll never understand the charm of showing pictures of yourself in the bathroom, of all places,) people fall over each other to tell the person in the picture how gorgeous she looks.

And not only that. I mean, I don’t think I would have really taken notice if people were just writing sweet little messages, but most of the time it is so much more than blatant flattery. Most of the time, girls tell other girls how hot and sexy they look.

Again, don’t get me wrong, I am all for same sex unions, but this is straight people, going out of their way to write dirty things on each other’s pictures, in a public forum on the internet.

I have to say, most of my friends knows better than to do that with me, but back in the day, when I had about 300 people on my friend list, that I didn’t know in real life, I felt very uncomfortable when it happened. I kind of deleted the bastards…. I didn’t know that this is clearly how we are supposed to talk to each other, online, these days.

Hey there, you sexy thing! Looking Hoooooot!

Really? You are kidding, right? I mean, the way I see my pictures, are mostly for the technical skill, I like it if people notice the composition, and the light and such. Or, if one of my horses are in the shot, sure, they are always beautiful. But don’t ever, ever, ever call me hot, thank you very much. Even if you actually think so, which isn’t all that likely, really, just… keep it to yourself already. It always has the opposite effect on me. It makes me self conscious in a way I almost never am. I really don’t like it when people talk to each other, or me, that way. I did not ask to be evaluated and judged on my looks, so please don’t. Ever.

I mean, I have this gorgeous girl friend who recently got married, and as much as I do find her to be truly stunning, I would never say so in so many words. Not online. (Counting on her not to read this…) I would tell her how amazing her hand-sewn dress is.  You know? Compliment her on her achievement, in making a fantastic dress, but not on how sexy she looks in it. That is kind of for her husband to tell her, not me…

Or maybe I am just very old fashioned…

I mentioned it to my boyfriend, this funny idea girls have these days, with over complimenting each other, and he instantly replied, that men does it too. Over compliment other men.

Which kind of had me smiling to myself, because clearly there is some new trend going on, that I don’t know about, where everyone is hot, sexy, and beautiful, even in a cross eyed, cell phone selfie, taken at 3 am, while drunk, on the toilet…

Again, I am all for supporting each other, but do people really need to hear those things, so badly, that they will take if from relative strangers, who are (sometimes,) obviously lying?

Because if so, then I don’t think that this is a good way for society to be headed. It could be sweet, trying to build up ones friends self esteem, like this, but if it is necessary, then I guess that society failed already, didn’t we?

The worst kind of comments I have seen, are when I post pictures of myself as a child and people instantly jump to using words like “hot” again. Which has me instantly hitting “delete” without second thought. Don’t ever describe a child as hot, to me. No matter how sweet the intentions may be, it is just wrong, wrong, wrong, and if people don’t know that, then we sure have a problem.

So tell me, what is this new, strange, sucking up to each other at all costs thing, that I am clearly too old to understand? Please explain it, so that I can stop feeling horrible about it, every time it happens. Anyone?

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You Are So Sexy!

  1. It is quite often used sarcastically, for instance if some one puts a pic up of me that is not very flattering I will put something like “ooohh sexy (random face here)” meaning quite the opposite!

Leave a Reply

