I´m Still Here

I used to love the Treasure Island when I was a kid. I am afraid to read it again, now that I have grown up. Many books and movies tend to not be as good when you grow older, as they once was. I can’t say if Treasure Island is one of the few that can go the distance.

I can say that I was pretty thrilled when Disney picked up the story and made it their own with Treasure Planet. Even as a science fantasy project, it’s still one of my favourite stories.

I know, it’s not a usual Disney movie, and most people have never heard of it for some reason. For one, there is only one song in the entire movie. Unheard of, right? Well, it is quite a song.

I’m Still Here;

Its October now. It’s 7 years ago this month, that my dear Legacy came home. The horse I could not save, no matter what I tried. Yes, I named him after the ship in this story. The Legacy.

“They can’t tell me who to be, ’cause I am not what they see…”

IMG_8311

My gentle giant. So misunderstood and alone and feared he was. Yes, I kind of named him, inspired by this song. It says everything I wanted for him.

IMG_1167

“I want a moment to be real,

Wanna touch things I don’t feel

Wanna hold on and feel I belong

And how can the world want me to change?

They are the ones that stay the same

They don’t know me

But I am still here.”

IMG_3361

There was no answer, in the end, to the question he was. This song is for him, at least in my mind. We did have a moment, that was real, and he did belong. We just couldn’t hold on.

IMG_0514

IMG_5299

This is an optimistic song, it really is. His life should have been like this song. He should have been… Still here.

IMG_8767

This Halloween, he should have turned 12. Instead, it is nearly five years since he died. Someday, I’ll stop listening to this song on replay whenever I am sad.

IMG_0483

“And you see the things they never see

All you wanted, I could be

Now you know me, and I am not afraid.”

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Horses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

