#NotInMyName

I don’t have a TV, I don’t have a radio, and I do my very best to not keep up with the world around me. Most of the time, I am doing pretty good.

I couldn’t fail to notice how Face Book exploded last Friday though, and for the first time since I took down my TV, did I look up our online news stations, to find out what was going on.

I don’t want to get political. I do follow a few of our Danish politicians on Face Book, just to keep up a little, so I am not completely out of the loop. As a matter of fact, I think I am more informed than most, who get their updates from the evening news.

I will say that I am very happy to see how many of my friends on Face Book have been very fast to not only show sympathy for the victims of the Paris attacks, but to point out as well, that now is not the time to hate on each other.

The #NotInMyName campaign has been spread like a wild fire through my friend list, and that at least, gives me a little hope.

I am astounded by how fast France and the US responded, and started throwing bombs back at ISIS. I mean, less than 48 hours right? That almost seems impossible…

I am not much for conspiracy theories, but some things I just can’t wrap my head around. Like those passports that always seem to be able to survive explosions. Turns out, once you become a terrorist, your passport becomes fire immune?

I honestly don’t know what to think about any of this. I do know though, who an attack like this one is hurting the most. (Aside from the victims, of course.) The refugees. Those who needs our help and compassion. Those whom we, in Denmark, watched walk down our freeway, and didn’t help. Injured and starving, they walked through our land, and the best we could do, was let them be. They were running from bombs, death and destruction back in Syria, and they were terrified to get caught by the Danish police.

I can’t say I blame them. Our society is deteriorating to fast these days that it is downright terrifying.  Aside from the ads placed in papers all over the world, telling refugees not to come here, our politicians are now busy passing a law that will allow any immigrant or anyone who is not a Danish citizen, to be arrested and held indefinitely, without a trial.

That sounds reassuring for the law and I don’t know, basic human rights?

I truly don’t have the words to describe how terrifying this is.

Add to that, our politicians are not just going after none Danish citizens, they are busy cutting support to those of our own, who needs it the most. The unemployed.

Basically, in Denmark, we are no longer fighting poverty, we are fighting the poor. That’s a sad development.

I used to think that one day, I’d move away. One day, I’d find somewhere else to live. Some land that was run by reasonable people. Compassionate people. Following the news these past few days, I honestly don’t know where to go anymore.

We even had a politician who was outspoken enough to go on national TV and state that it was time we started bombing civilians. Women and children.

It is not so much that he said it that bothers me, it is that he wasn’t instantly arrested, that is getting to me. How is encouraging bombing women and children, not illegal? Isn’t it terror if you are white?

And then there are the pictures of bombs, that have run across Face Book as well, with a message written on them. “From Paris with love.”  On bombs.

Come on.

Hatemongering? No kidding.

I can never believe that fighting violence with violence is the answer. I don’t know what the answer is, but dropping bombs on people… Letting sick and starving children walk our freeways without offering assistance… That cannot be the answer either.

Would you look at that. I did get a little political here… So while we are at it, I’ll just leave this video, from John Lennon and Yoko Ono, and hope that someday, someone may listen.

And with that, I’ll go look in my closet and hope to find a secret passage way to Narina or someplace nice and safe… I would like to ad, that whatever acts of terror the Danish government is participating in these days, is sure as hell isn’t in my name.

That campaign shouldn’t just be Muslims, these days.

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

