Thanksgiving

We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in Denmark, for obvious reasons.

I was a bit bummed to find that there would be no new episode of Supernatural this week, because of Thanksgiving. I came across some other people on face book, who felt the same way, and I accidentally happened to read some of the comments. I should not do that. I just can’t help myself sometimes.

It turns out, that the general tone in this particular post I came across, was that it was reasonable that there was no new episode. After all, the poor actors should be with their families for Thanksgiving, right?

Because we all know that Supernatural is filmed before a live studio audience and aired instantly…?

I didn’t comment. But it has taken me a while to stop laughing, and because of that, I guess I am going to live for another week without Supernatural. I mean no disrespect, but sometimes I am so surprised by how people’s minds works, that it takes me a while to wrap my head around it. And this, is kind of funny…

Anyway, even if I am going to be an un-thankful, spoiled little brat, I do know someone who is very happy to be alive and who is thankful for her ponies, and her life, ever single day.

Life. IMG_6438

Yeah, she got a few new ponies lately. And she never tire of them.

IMG_6439

She is moving on though, to greater things these days. Whenever she can get her claws into Aston’s cell phone, she hordes it.

IMG_6442

Never leave anything unattended, around Life. It will belong to her, the second you look away.

But it’s okay. As long as she is happy. She is outgrowing Skywishes’ bed though…

IMG_6443

So I guess I should be thankful. I get to have Life in my life.

(She is a rescue, came to us 2 and a half years ago, so starved she could not walk anymore. We never thought she would recover.) 

And my beautiful horses.

IMG_3058

I get to write on my books and on the scripts for Dark Mare Pictures. I get to be (almost) as crazy and dysfunctional as I please. And I get to have an awesome boyfriend who has put up with me for ten years by now, no one knows why.

He doesn’t even complain when I keep bringing rescue’s home. Like little Shy. She knows that she can’t play with his army, but one can always dream, right?

de781879-5f3c-407c-a745-76e02d70aa35

To be honest, she doesn’t really want the army. I mean, fair enough, the dragon is pretty cool, but what she really wants, is the pencil… The hours of fun one can have with a pencil, if you are a kitten… You won’t believe it.

So happy Thanksgiving, those of you who celebrate it. And I guess that those of us who don’t, should take a second anyway, to remember how good we have it.

After all, we are not refugees, running for our lives, hoping that somewhere, some country will treat us with common decency or just an glimmer of humanity. Compared to that, I have no business moping about my TV show being postponed a week. I guess I am just that spoiled. That is worth thinking about, isn’t it?

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Life- The Cat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thanksgiving

  1. You’re not spoiled! I’m in the U.S. and don’t celebrate the holiday. If it weren’t for all of the Charlie Brown specials, I’d be very unhappy with the programming is well. Yet, here I am, politely acknowledging the “happy thanksgiving” wishes hoping everyone’s happy and making the most of a day off from work. Like you said, I am happy to not be a refugee or worry about some of the basic needs in life!

Leave a Reply

