Destiel And The Darkness

Let me start by saying, if you haven’t watched Supernatural, ALL of Supernatural, don’t read this. There will be spoilers.

I follow quite a few fandoms, and to be honest, I am having a lot of fun with it, since there are a lot of funny people out there on social media. Lately, I have been amusing myself with the Destiel phenomenon.

To be honest, the first time I watched Supernatural, I didn’t catch that at all. As a matter of fact, I thought that Castiel was a little annoying, crowding Sam and Dean’s relationship. Yes, I watch Supernatural for the relationship between these two brothers.

The times when Dean threatens to strap Sam in his car and drive them both off a cliff if he can’t fix his broken mind, the times when Dean talks Sam out of closing the gates of hell, because there “ain’t no me, if there ain’t no you…” Or when Dean sells his soul to bring his brother back from the dead…

Okay, so I watch Supernatural, because of how deeply Dean feels about his brother, and all I really want is for the two of them to have a happy ending somehow. At least, for them to not be separated.

Also, I found most of the angels to be annoying. I still do, even if I have revised my opinion of Castiel.

I always adored Crowley, and I did have a lot of fun with season nine and how him and Dean were growing closer… You see, I am the kind of person that absolutely looks for subtext, especially gay subtext, and Crowley isn’t even subtle about Dean. Which is awesome.

But, no, I didn’t spot the Destiel ship at first. I will say though, watching the series again, I get how it came to be. There are a lot of scenes that is practically serving it to you on a silver plate, if you are looking for it.

That is one of the things I love about Supernatural. How the script writers seem to keep up with the fans, and have fun with letting the Destiel shippers hope…

It did get a little tiresome, during season ten, even for me. How they kept hinting at it, and never let it happen. Yeah, that is where I finally got it.

After last nights episode, I have come across a lot of angry posts though, from the Destiel shippers, and I have to say, that, I don’t get.

So, there was a brief spoiler of Dean, kissing the Darkness in next weeks episode.

Are we surprised? I mean, really? Are we?

She was kind of introduced like that, wasn’t she? All sensual and alluring around him?

I have to say, I thought she was much more scary when she was smoke and dust, covering everything, but knowing Supernatural, we know by now, that the ones writing that story, is pretty scared of women, and especially little girls.

I mean, it never fails. Need a real bad monster? Its a strong woman, or a girl child. Nothing more creepy than that, right? Why would the Darkness be any different?

Don’t get me wrong here. I am actually supporting the script writers, even if it doesn’t sound like it. As much as I would have loved for the Darkness to be just smoke and dust, because I would have loved to see Sam and Dean fight that, (best of luck,) now that she is a woman, it was about time that Dean hooked up with a monster.

You know, not Benny, of course. I am a little surprised that there isn’t a fandom about Dean and Benny, because that story line was so cute and so not straight… At least not in my head…

But no, let him be with her. Maybe that could even things out a little, between Sam and Dean. Make up for Ruby, which Dean is still holding against Sam… I don’t know. And after all, why not?

Yes, I read all the arguments.

Two weeks ago, she was a baby. Incest! 

Not really. She is not a baby now, is she? And if she is God’s sister, she is much, much older than Dean, so really, who is abusing who, if you think about it?

Supernatural is disrespectful towards women! 

Well… It IS a show about two guys, basically. And as much as their way of handling strong women usually bothers me, it isn’t disrespectful. Misguided, from time to time, perhaps, but truly, watching the show, I sense a deep, fundamental respect for women, even if they tend to turn out to be evil…

Oh, and Charlie was cool. So was Ruby.

Supernatural is disrespectful towards LGBT!

Uhm, okay. It might be. Again, I sense no evil intent from the writers, but it has crossed my mind, watching the show, once in a while. It is a very fine line, joking about something, without embracing it. I, for one, would love to have a gay angel. So far we have had gay characters, like Charlie for instance, and a few demons. So, basically, women and devils’ spawn, which is usually pretty much the same on this show, can be gay. That does get a little tiresome.

But we were hoping that season 11 would make Destiel a reality! 

Why? Because the writers have been joking about it for a while? So what? They are writing the show, not the fans.

And think about it. If Dean and Castiel did get together, what would happen then?

Speaking as a writer, I don’t think I’d do it either. And I can’t believe that I just said that. But the whole foundation of the show, is Sam and Dean against the world. If you add the prefect boyfriend, someone that Dean could actually be happy with, who isn’t Sam, what happens then? Wouldn’t it kind of kill the show?

Okay, who am I kidding, I would totally let them be together, if I was writing a story like this one, but not until I was writing the end of the series. Or, maybe, if I needed something to get between the brothers again…

Really, I am writing this post, because I am quite surprised by how so many people can adore a show so much, make up their own story line, and get upset when the writers of the show, doesn’t respect it.

Watching Supernatural, it has plot holes, (not as bad as some shows, but they are there,) character assassination from time to time, and maybe it doesn’t always handle its own creations in the best possible way, but all in all, the show has been running for 11 seasons now, and it is still cool. Mostly because Dean is still unhappy, and still dying for Sam to stay with him, and Sam is still thinking about running away from it all.

Watching it with my boyfriend, I do have a lot of times when I turn to him and says; “shh, just go with it,” when he has questions, that shouldn’t be asked about the story line, and as a writer, it should bother me, but it doesn’t. I watch this show, because I adore Dean. Yes, I am that easy. And lately, I have to say, Castiel has been growing on me as well…

If I thought he was crowding Sam and Dean at first, I don’t anymore. Adding him to the show was a great idea, and not just because Misha is awesome. Without Castiel and Crowley, I doubt the show could have gone on for as long as it has. After all, there are only so many ways you can separate the brothers, and make them fight each other, and the world.

And all of you who want to watch a gay show, go check out Queer as Folk. It is almost as painful to watch as Supernatural, if you are looking for suppressed emotions, unspoken love, and unbreakable bonds. I am not kidding, its a great show. And it will leave you just as brokenhearted as Supernatural always does.

To wrap this up then, I am absolutely shipping Destiel, I think it would be beautiful. But beautiful is not really the way of the show.

Uhu, I can feel myself getting deleted and blocked…

Anyway, I am still looking forward to next weeks episode. I am counting on it to be evil, and heartbreaking and you know… Supernatural.

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

