Photo Shoot

I don’t usually do dresses. Or high heels. I’m an equestrian through and through. Worn out snickers and jeans, that’s mostly my thing. Just so we are clear. That said, I always had a lot of fun dressing up, so when we decided to do a photo shoot to promote my books, (mostly the new one,) I figured, why not…

Let’s go for it.

I’ve put on too much weight lately, to fit into most of my worn out jeans, anyway…

IMG_8591 1

I know that I have had a lot of fun editing these pictures, bringing out different stories in them, through the color grade. And yes, by adding pieces of writing to some of them.

IMG_8525 d

In all honesty, it’s pretty hard to take pictures with books… I mean, they are not exactly interacting with you. Cell phones, or mirrors, are much easier…

IMG_8656 2

Oh wait, book promoting. Right.

So, I remember, when I first wrote the Starstone Series, and my little sister was reading them religiously. She, one day, suddenly quoted myself to me, and that kind of stuck with me, so this quote is dear to my heart, because it reminds me of her;

IMG_8485bw2

I guess I am not too good at taking my own advise, and leave the past behind.

IMG_8671 e

There is no promoting any of my work, be it my music or my writing, without acknowledging my childhood friend, who committed suicide  11 years ago. My poetry collection, This Song, is dedicated to her.

IMG_8691 wda

I should add here, that she was my wild rose. I used to call her that.

IMG_8338text

But that’s another story, I guess.

Also, there is no leaving out my horses, and all the songs and stories I wrote for them, or inspired by them.

IMG_8593fzd

Poseidon and I were always that epic… At least when I wrote songs about him.

This next one, is a song I wrote to help myself get over it, when I finished the Starstone Series. I believe I even had Cassio say something like it, in the last book. It felt great to wrap up a series of five books, but it sure was horrible as well. I felt so homeless, all of a sudden. Like I had just written myself out of my own world.

IMG_8529 2ddss

I love creating my own world. Disappearing into it. The series I am writing on now, are no different.

IMG_8619 ds

So, check out my books. The new one is a short story collection, called something as clever as The Short Stories, and it is kind of building a bridge from The Starstone Series, to the new series I am working on; The Legacy.

http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/Kallikanzaros

They are on amazon as e-books as well, all of them. Check them out.

IMG_8650 24

And I have to say, as much as I love fantasy and writing songs, Surviving the Equestrian World, (my book on my horses, our lives, and our training methods,) holds a special place in my heart and the best picture I’ve had taken in a long time, is this one;

20160303_170802sdfa

That is me. No makeup, covered in dirt and saliva. Probably about to lose an ear…

Still, it’s kind of fun, being less black and white, once in a while. Or at least, escaping the mud. I love escaping the mud. Can’t wait for spring, when my pasture dries up and everything becomes a little less dirty…

IMG_8703bw

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Poetry/ Songs /Art, Surviving the Equstrian World, The Starstone and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

