Always My Foal

I believe I was quite unfair, calling Ablaze my “perfect foal” in the last post. Well, don’t get me wrong, he is, but I have another perfect foal. Apocalipse, turning 6 this year.

IMG_1747d

I know, I know, most of the equestrian world is shaking their heads at me, but he is MY foal. And I am never letting him grow up.

He is gorgeous though. I keep looking at these new pictures and comparing him to the foal we welcomed one freezing morning in late July, six years ago.

IMG_2247

Tiny, he was. Frail and tiny and with an ego that was hardly containable within his small frame.

Poca 5

He was the long awaited, always wanted, very special foal, born to our wonderful, irreplaceable Amalia and our very own Stallion, sweet and gentle Saleem.

IMG_3378

He was ever always charming. And when his mother died, he held his head high and never missed a beat. But look at this. Mere hours old and he had that special something that just made you look at him and smile, no matter how much he looked like a deer and not exactly like a foal.

IMG_1491

He still has it. 

IMG_1746

He turned out to be the perfect mixture of his mom and his dad, getting all the things from both of them, just as we hoped for.

IMG_1737

IMG_1733

IMG_1734

I even look at him now, and think that maybe he is ready to start riding this year. His shoulder is evening out, growing stronger, isn’t it? His back doesn’t look all that frail anymore, does it?

IMG_1723

IMG_1777

Even if I am never letting him grow up, maybe I could compromise and accept that he is not the frail little thing I pulled out of his mother, after a panicky hour of labor, not breathing and no longer fighting for his life. Maybe I could accept that he is strong, he always was, otherwise he would not have opened his eyes that night.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I can’t believe it’s been six years already. Well, soon. Come July. It feels like yesterday. But he sure turned out just perfect. No small amount of thanks to his genes, and the tender love and care he always received from his mother, Poseidon and Apollon. Even Saleem, in his own way, always adored him. It shows.

IMG_1719

He is a not nearly as good as playing nice as Ablaze. Apocalipse runs away, or even kicks at you, (making sure not to hit, but he does it anyway.) He has a very strong sense of entitlement.

IMG_1721

I guess I can’t really blame him. We all enabled him.

IMG_5037

Watched over him. Loved him.

My three red boys, and their foal, Saleem in the right corner.

IMG_9250

I wish all of them could have seen him now. I bet they are hanging out by the rainbow bridge, marveling at how awesome he turned out, and laughing at Saleem when he has to deal with him and his ego alone. Reposting this video of Apocalipse and his dad;

Yep. He grew up just perfect. And he does know how to behave around humans…

IMG_0542

No, wait, he didn’t grow up. Still my foal. Always my foal.

IMG_3816

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in Horses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

