Gishwhes Coffee Table Book

When I joined Gishwhes (the greatest international scavenger hunt the world has ever seen,) for the first time this year, I had no illusions about winning. I made sure to join a super cool team, with an awesome captain who was there to guide us virgins through it all.

I did know that the best (or weirdest, or funniest, or most artistic,) entries got to be displayed in the coffee table book, which has its own kind of honor. Even if you don’t win, or get to meet Misha, and go on a weekend with him and your team, (I would not have gone anyway, who’d look after my babies?) you get to have something you created in a book, with a lot of other great and talented people.

I know, I’m a writer, what do I care? I published 10 books so far, what’s the big deal?

Well…. It is.

I did not buy the coffee table book, because I am dead broke with Tardis being sick and all, and I was afraid it would be snatched up in the Danish customs. Only lately did I learn that they ship from England… Oh great… Anyway…

One of my team members tweeted me yesterday, saying that I made it into the coffee table book.

As it turned out, with the picture of my horses. Imagine that.

And again, I know. Saleem is the cover horse of Surviving the Equestrian World, and all my horses are in that book. I’ve made sure to make them immortal as much as I know how. Still, having their picture in a book that people who don’t know me, or horses, or horsemanship, are going to look through, that is something special.

I nearly backed out of that task, truth be told. Funny how things work out.

I begged my team members to take a picture of the book, and our captain came true. Here we are, Poseidon, Amalia, Saleem, Tardis, Aston and me, in the Gishwhes coffee table book, 2016.

cypc3vtvqaeotjl

Thanks Heather and Fury, for telling me, and taking the picture for me. As much as this item was about doing something for a loved one, that would make them smile, knowing that my babies got to be in that book, has made me smile all day.

That, and the My Little Pony game updated on android. But mostly, the coffee table book. Who would have thought. My Poseidon. My heart, my soul, my star, my endless night, sent out to tons of people, who never knew him. If I wrote our story in Surviving the Equestrian World, because I wanted his life to matter, somehow seeing him here, is bringing us home.

We are not the crazy girl with the horse that doesn’t like humans. We are in the book that celebrates the weirdest people in the world. That, somehow, matter a great deal to me.

We are here, because through it all, we never stopped being crazy. And in the end, it wasn’t such a bad thing.

About Starstone

-Owned by horses. Writer, Photographer, Director, Musician.
This entry was posted in GISHWHES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

